Contact details

contact email address

Wednesday, 20 May 2015

Angus Robertson announces SNP Spokesperson team

Following the Scottish National Party's performance in general election, where they became the third party in the House of Commons. Westminster SNP Leader Angus Robertson MP announced the membership of both the 17 strong group leadership and the 32 strong list of Group Spokespeople to SNP MPs this afternoon in the House of Commons.

  • Group Leader - Angus Robertson MP
  • Deputy Group Leader - Stewart Hosie MP


  • Economy Spokesperson - Stewart Hosie MP
  • Treasury Spokesperson - Roger Mullin MP

International Affairs

  • International Affairs and Europe Spokesperson - Alex Salmond MP 
  • Europe Spokesperson - Stephen Gethins MP
  • International Development Spokesperson - Patrick Grady MP

Justice and Home Affairs
  • Justice & Home Affairs - Joanna Cherry MP
  • Asylum & Immigration Spokesperson - Stuart McDonald MP
  • Civil Liberties Spokesperson - Anne McLaughlin MP

Social Justice and Welfare
  • Social Justice and Welfare Spokesperson - Dr Eilidh Whiteford MP
  • Fair Work and Employment Spokesperson - Hannah Bardell MP 
  • Pensions Spokesperson - Ian Blackford MP 
  • Disabilities Spokesperson - Natalie McGarry MP

Health and Education
  • Public Services and Education Spokesperson - Carol Monaghan MP 
  • Health Spokesperson - Philippa Whitford MP

  • Defence Spokesperson - Brendan O’Hara MP 
  • Armed Forces and Veterans Spokesperson - Kirsten Oswald MP

Business, Innovation and Skills
  • Business, Innovation and Skills Spokesperson - Michelle Thomson MP
  • Trade and Investment Spokesperson - Tasmina Ahmed-Sheik MP
  • Cities Spokesperson - Alison Thewliss MP 

Energy and Climate Change
  • Energy and Climate Change Spokesperson - Callum McCaig MP
  • Climate Justice Spokesperson - Lisa Cameron MP

Environment and Transport
  • Environment and Rural Affairs Spokesperson - Callum Kerr MP
  • Transport Spokesperson - Drew Hendry MP

Culture and Equalities
  • Culture, Media and Sport Spokesperson - John Nicolson MP
  • Equalities, Women and Children Spokesperson - Angela Crawley MP

Scotland and Constitution
  • Shadow Leader of the House of Commons - Pete Wishart MP
  • Scottish Parliament/Scottish Government Liaison - Deidre Brock MP
  • Scotland Office Spokesperson - Margaret Ferrier MP 
  • Cabinet Office Spokesperson - Tommy Sheppard MP
  • Devolved Government Relations Spokesperson - Deidre Brock MP 
  • House of Lords Spokesperson - Kirsty Blackman MP

SNP Whips Office

  • Chief Whip - Mike Weir MP
  • Deputy Whip - Marion Fellows MP 
  • Deputy Whip - Owen Thomson MP

The SNP leader in the House of Commons Angus Robertson MP said: "The SNP Westminster Leadership and team of spokespeople bring together a great range of talents from the record-sized SNP group in the House of Commons. We will coordinate and develop the policy priorities of the SNP at Westminster while working closely with colleagues in the Scottish Government, Scottish Parliament, European Parliament and local government."

"I’m proud that we have been able to follow the lead of First Minister Nicola Sturgeon in having a gender balanced team of spokespeople as well as matching the experience of long serving SNP parliamentarians and newly elected MPs. All SNP parliamentarians will be working in policy teams, with many taking up committee places when the committees start their work shortly in the House of Commons."