Contact details

contact email address

Wednesday, 1 April 2015

Co-op party announce 42 candidates for May

As the general election short campaign finally gets underway, the Co-operative Party have announced their team of candidates right across Britain. With 42 candidates standing they say they have a real chance of achieving a record number of co-operators in Parliament. Co-op candidates stand on a joint ticket with the Labour party. The Co-operative party say they and Labour are working to create what they call "a more co-operative Britain." The party say they also have nearly 250 Labour & Co-operative council candidates in local elections also taking place this May.

The full list of Co-operative candidates below:

  • Richard Baker MSP (Aberdeen North)
  • Ian Davidson (Glasgow South West)
  • Gemma Doyle (West Dunbartonshire)
  • Tom Greatrex (Rutherglen & Hamilton West)
  • Cathy Jamieson (Kilmarnock & Loudon)
  • Mark Lazarowicz (Edinburgh North & Leith)
  • Kenny Selbie (Kirkcaldy & Cowdenbeath)
  • Melanie Ward (Glenrothes & Central Fife)

  • Geraint Davies (Swansea West)
  • Stephen Doughty (Cardiff South & Penarth)
  • Christopher Evans (Islwyn)

East Midlands
  • Jonathan Ashworth (Leicester South)
  • Christopher Leslie (Nottingham East)
  • Jamie McMahon (North West Leicestershire)
  • Andy Sawford (Corby)

East of England
  • Gavin Shuker (Luton South)
  • Sharon Taylor (Stevenage)

  • Stella Creasy (Walthamstow)
  • Michael Gapes (Ilford South)
  • Meg Hillier (Hackney South & Shoreditch)
  • Seema Malhotra (Feltham & Heston)
  • Kate Osamor (Edmonton)
  • Gareth Thomas (Harrow West)

North East
  • Louise Baldock (Stockton South)
  • Anna Turley (Redcar)

North West
  • Luciana Berger (Liverpool Wavertree)
  • Louise Ellman (Liverpool Riverside)
  • Mark Hendrick (Preston)
  • Lucy Powell (Manchester Central)
  • Steve Reed (Croydon North)
  • Jonathan Reynolds (Stalybridge & Hyde)
  • Stephen Twigg (Liverpool West Derby)
  • John Woodcock (Barrow & Furness)

South East
  • Rowenna Davis (Southampton, Itchen)
  • Sarah Owen (Hastings & Rye)
  • Andrew Pakes (Milton Keynes South)

South West
  • David Drew (Stroud)
  • Luke Pollard (Plymouth Sutton & Devonport)

West Midlands
  • Adrian Bailey (West Bromwich West)

Yorkshire & the Humber
  • Ed Balls (Morley and Outwood)
  • Rachael Maskell (York Central)
  • Barry Sheerman (Huddersfield)